10" 33 rpm Classical LP Nineteenth Century

What it says on the tin

In all of music, is there a more romantic instrument than the cello?

Rhetorical question. ‘Course not.

1063 sleeveIf you want to hook someone on classical music, take them to see a good cellist play. Or even just play a recording, and you could do worse than this, one of the most demanding cello pieces ever written. It is the work of the Czech composer Anton Dvorak, who travelled to the United States in the 1890s. He lived and worked there for several years, writing the New World Symphony for which is he is mostly remembered. But he did a lot besides, and though I have only just discovered it I rank this work, which was first performed in 1896, as a masterpiece.

Like a lot of classical music, it has a less-than-catchy title: “Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in B Minor”. You get what it says on the tin, but the marketing could be better. Anyway, it is a lovely piece, dramatic and beautiful in turns. The section I have chosen is the second movement which, after a brief burst is slower, quieter and more reflective than the rest of the Concerto.1063 sticker

As part of my Planet Vinyl experience I have been learning the meaning of those strange Italian expressions which appear on the liner notes of classical records. I always found them intimidating. But, much like Italian cooking, they are actually pretty forgiving, relaxed. This movement is adagio ma non troppo. Adagio literally means “at ease” but is usually translated as “slowly”. Ma non troppo is a beautiful, very Italian, phrase: “but not too much”.

The record is a 10-inch LP, from about the early-1960s. It was bought in Geelong, from a shop called Dicksons’. The original owner played it quite a bit, and so there is some surface noise. Sadly, it will never be played again. I dropped it, you see, and 1960s vinyl can be brittle … 1063 chip

But the music shines through. Playing slowly, but not too much, is Tibor de Machula on cello. Just lovely.

  • Artist: Tibor de Machula (cello); Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Rudolf Moralt.
  • LP Title: Anton Dvorak: Concerto for Cello and Orchestra in B Minor
  • Side 1, Track 2: Second movement, adagio ma non troppo.
  • Format: 10” LP 33⅓ rpm
  • Label: Philips G 05338 R
  • Manufactured in: Holland
  • Year: no date (early 1960s?)

Many of the records featured on this blog (not this one, wot has a big chip in it) are for sale via Discogs


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s